Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    March 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   May »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Husqvarna

Why I hate Go Pro Studio

Posted by desflurane on March 17, 2016

At first I kind of liked the free application that Go Pro offers. It allows you to manage, edit and publish your videos, it’s free. It is available for download right on the Go Pro website – and it’s free.

As so often turns out to be the case – you get what you pay for…

The interface is a bit clunky, and the application happily throws away all the footage I didn’t select to be “converted” when proceeding from Step 1 to Step 2. Perhaps I could change settings to prevent this from happening, but really? Just delete all the additional video I shot just because I didn’t use it this time around – without so much as a warning? Very lame!

Editing tools are rudimentary at best. Crossfades are the only option for transitions between clips. Options for titles and captions are woefully absent. Adjusting audio levels was difficult and seems only to allow changes to be made to the entire clip all together – I couldn’t turn the volume up and down to suit the action at hand.

After editing one video using good old iMovie, there was no going back. The versatility that Apple’s software offers is vastly superior. I immediately gave up on Go Pro Studio.

Unfortunately, I had checked the box to “Automatically Import Video From A Go Pro” and forgot to uncheck it.

Today I returned home from a good training ride during which I had shot a few video clips that I thought would turn out nicely. I plugged my Go Pro’s micro SD card into the computer. That was my big mistake.

The crappy Go Pro application immediately began siphoning my video files off the SD card. Moments later it had deleted said files from said card – and crashed rather suddenly.

Guess what had vanished into smoke during this charming little process?

Did you say “all that new video footage?” If so – You Are Exactly Right! In the blink of an eye, it was all GONE!

I didn’t even get the chance to look at any of it.

So that’s it – I’m done with Go Pro Studio.

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
