Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    January 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Husqvarna

Snow – it’s not just for breakfast anymore…

Posted by desflurane on January 25, 2016

Ben Rieff and I rode Peavine this afternoon.  


On the lower slopes of the mountain, the dirt was just phenomenal! Wet, not muddy – beautiful!
We climbed a bit higher and (predictably) ran into snow. It was heavy, wet, and partially melted with gooey mud underneath, making it very challenging to ride through. It was banana-peel slick yet firm enough that escaping the single rut left by a previous rider was near impossible. If you did manage to break free it was sort of like stepping over the line at a bowling alley onto the smooth, oiled boards just beyond – where suddenly ending up on your head becomes a distinct possibility. 

We pressed on for a mile or two before turning aside and returning to the ample traction to be found lower down. 

The photo was taken about at the midpoint between no snow and where we finally cried uncle.

I’m enjoying my new suspension more and more! Added to ultra-low pressures in my tires and epic-quality soil to churn, the combination is really a winner! I find myself riding quicker, cornering harder and accelerating more than I did before. I tried dialing in a couple clicks more compression damping on the fork, but couldn’t really appreciate a difference, the conditions weren’t great for that kind of testing – I’ll try it again soon. 

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
