Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    December 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Husqvarna

Pro Bends mounted 

Posted by desflurane on December 1, 2015

I finally put on he Cycra Pro Bend hand guards which I “harvested” from he KTM prior to selling it. They look sharp!


During the install, I realized that there was no possibility that the right-hand aluminum bar would clear the front brake reservoir. I puzzled over this problem for a few minutes before realizing that a simple spacer would solve the issue.

I ran to my shop and grabbed a length of 1″ diameter 6061 aluminum rod. Once chucked up tight in my lathe, I turned and bored two custom spacers which match the other parts perfectly. I had to wait until the next day to get some longer M8x1.25 flange bolts to complete the project.

It turned out nicely and completely solved the clearance problem.

The Pro Bends now mount without the significant torquing of the aluminum bar that was required before. It also eliminated the need to reposition the levers in order to get the hand guards to fit. Everything just bolts easily into place. I wish I had done this a long time ago!

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
