Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    June 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Husqvarna

Things didn’t go so well in Frankfurt

Posted by desflurane on June 30, 2013

As mentioned, I arrived in San Francisco just in time for the boarding to start. It was immediately halted due to some kind of issue with the catering – and we waited…

Ultimately the flight took off a full hour behind schedule. The pilot promised that we would still be “nearly on time” in Frankfurt. This turned out to be almost true.

The flight itself wasn’t so bad. I paid extra to get the Economy Plus seating and a little more on top to get the aisle seat on an exit row. This translated into plenty of leg room – so that I could fully stretch out and almost get comfortable. Airliner seats have their limitations after all…

On the strong recommendation of some frequent-flier type friends, I got some Ambien (zolpidem) to help me get some sleep on the ten hour flight. After lunch was finished and I had time to attend to all the necessary details (ahem…) I popped a 5mg tablet, snuggled into my neck-pillow-donut-thingy and fully expected to awaken in Frankfurt.

Not so much.

I did fall asleep, no doubt about that. The Ambien was certainly useful there. But less than an hour later I was wide awake watching some of the first in flight movie. Not what I had in mind.

After assuring myself that I was not chemically altered in any significant way, I gulped down another 5mg. Again I drifted off, and again I was crisply awake less than two hours later. I decided not to push my luck and take any more. Next time I’ll just take two right from the get-go and see if I get a better result. I don’t know if it was related to the Ambien, but I did have a nice headache by the time we landed in Frankfurt.

The wheels hit tarmack at about 11:00am, after copious taxiing, deplaning onto the runway, loading up on a bus, going through passport control as well as security, I discovered the time to be 11:30. My flight to Vienna was scheduled for an 11:40 departure. Somehow the workings of fate were confounded and my gate was not in fact at the opposite end of the terminal! It was however four flights of stairs above me – the stairs were at the opposite end of the terminal. With five minutes to go I ran flat-out all the way down the terminal, up the flights of stairs and back down the length of the terminal, arriving at my gate at 11:36 (there was a digital clock right above the desk – ultra practical Germans!)

The plane was gone.

I was directed to the Lufthansa service desk where I learned that I had already been booked on the next flight to Vienna – about three o’clock that afternoon – and that there was no connecting flight to Sibiu until tomorrow. Right…

The girl at the desk chatted with me for a minute about the weather in San Francisco, since she is spending ten days there starting next week. She further informed me that I could reach Sibiu via Munich! The flight departing at 3:00pm with a connecting flight that would get me on Romanian soil (wait for it…) just after midnight!

Crap.

Rather than spending the afternoon catching up with the Romaniacs crowd and perhaps taking a spin on my (Dougie’s) bike I’m screwing around in airports until tomorrow! Not so awesome.

So as I write this I am seated in a large cafeteria-style pizza restaurant in the heart of Munich International, eating my margherita pizza with a knife and fork, washing it down with cold-ish Coke Zero. My next flight starts boarding in – oh let’s see here – three and a half hours!

Honestly after cramming some food down my neck and swilling a bit of much, much, much-needed caffeine, the prospects don’t seem so bleak after all. My biggest worry is just that I may roll in to the HQ Ramada around 1:00am and find nobody there to direct me to the room Alex has reserved for me. That is assuming that I can get to the hotel from the airport without trouble just around midnight…

But it will all work out fine.

If I were to make a list of things I would rather be doing this week than riding in the tenth edition of Red Bull Romaniacs… It would be extremely short, I can tell you that!

One Response to “Things didn’t go so well in Frankfurt”

  1. Kjetil said

    Brandon…keep your chin up…we,re here waiting for ya…..

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
