Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    June 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Husqvarna

The final countdown

Posted by desflurane on June 8, 2013

Wow, time is getting short!

Twenty-three days before the event starts! (Twenty-one days before I fly out)

Crazy!

I’ve been doing as much training as I can, trying to push my fitness a bit further over the next two weeks before I coast in for the actual event. Meaning that I’m going to reduce the intensity of my workouts over the last week of June, to make sure that I arrive in Sibiu fresh and ready to hit it hard over there.

I have incorporated some real stretching into my routine and it seems to be helping. I have stretched ¬†before, but never with any real effort. I would do the usual “try to touch my toes” thing for ten seconds before or after exercising, and surprisingly – I’m still rather stiff and inflexible. Who would have guessed?

Following the accident, my hips and lower back seem to have stiffened up considerably. I can walk or run without issues, but I can feel the tightness when I swing my leg over the bike for sure. This has gotten somewhat better over time, but I haven’t really focused on improving my flexibility as much as I should have. In the back of my mind I have been fearing some kind of crash that causes me to do the splits or some other maneuver that my body just isn’t “bendy and stretchy” enough to handle – and a loud, tearing sound echoes through the hills as I literally tear myself apart…

Well, aside from pain relief I am gaining a sense of confidence from increased flexibility that I’ll be better able to soak up whatever nasty spills I might take along the way.

I have deliberately avoided running at all costs, and I think my knee is feeling better. It isn’t cured yet, but I think there is some real improvement. On the recommendation of a friend who is also an orthopedic surgeon, I went to a physical therapist and had ultrasound iontopheresis performed on my ailing bursa. It essentially consists of having my knee rubbed with an ultrasound probe coated with gel that contains some steroid. The high-energy ultrasound drives the steroid into the tissues where it can go to work calming any inflammation present. This provided a very strange, buzzing sensation but was completely painless. My knee felt more sore than usual for the next twenty four hours, but now seems to be somewhat improved. The physical therapist said I should go back for perhaps half a dozen more treatments. I’m not sure I’ll be able to squeeze that into my schedule, but I’ll give it a try. In the mean time, I’ll continue my steady diet of Ibuprofen and Acetaminophen to keep things under control.

2 Responses to “The final countdown”

  1. Megan Romo said

    Found your blog. And as I plow through I cannot help but pause at this post and whisper, “Yoga . . . yoga . . . yoga . . . ” If you get back from Romania and feel like your system could use that stretching you mentioned, I happen to know a yoga freak who is always happy to brief and bring newcomers. Just sayin’.

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
