Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    April 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Husqvarna

Time to settle accounts

Posted by desflurane on April 26, 2013

Yesterday I shot off an email to Dougie in Sibiu saying that I can wire the balance of the money I owe – to cover bike rental, service from Adrenalin, purchase of tires/mousses from Goldentyre and a 500 Euro security deposit (to cover anything I might break on Dougie’s bike).

He replied saying that, yes it is getting to be time to settle the debts and lock everything in for the rally.

The total bill is going to come in just under three grand, bringing my total investment to somewhere in the neighborhood of six thousand bucks. Significantly less than the eight-large I had been expecting. Getting my airfare essentially for free was a major coup.

Along with this, Dougie mentioned that during the recent King of the Hill competition in Romania, Chris Birch fouled his bike on a logging drag-line and ruined the rear brake assembly. In need of a bike, Dougie came to his aid with (you guessed it) the bike I’ll be riding! So this worthy steed has been ridden by both Paul Bolton and Chris Birch!

Chris even did a bit of fiddling with the carburetor settings. Awesome! I’m confident in saying that I’ll be riding the COOLEST bike at Romaniacs! Maybe Dougie could get Andreas Lettenbichler to do a top end on it or something…

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
