Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    April 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Husqvarna

Good riding and the Rookie class

Posted by desflurane on April 1, 2013

I frequently start writing pages-long posts detailing my offroad adventures only to be interrupted with days slipping by before I get back to my train of thought – by which time I am asking myself what I was thinking in the first place…

This happened last Thursday when Ben and I were able to meet up for a nice afternoon ride. We hit Peavine, a trail-covered mountain nearby that offers a wide variety of riding conditions. It was good. We followed some fresh single track and climbed up some nasty hills. In short it was excellent practice and -thankfully- a nice change of scenery for me.

I ran into Ben again today and we are planning another ride this coming Wednesday. Hopefully a visit to my almost-finished single track! Should be good.

On the Romaniacs website a new “competitor” class has been opened up called the “Rookie” class. This class will participate in the prologue time trials (not in the elimination heats) and go out on guided rides for the next two days, ending up in Petrosani for the overnight bivouac. The last two days are spent in actual competition on the hobby single class tracks.

The cost is 1250 Euro with accommodation.

Interesting idea. It apparently is intended for riders who are a bit skittish about going in full-bore and are looking for a less daunting challenge. Sounds nice, but personally I’d rather bite the bullet and attempt the whole enchilada.

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
