Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    March 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Husqvarna

Riding the Dunlop

Posted by desflurane on March 15, 2013

Ok, I have now gotten some real saddle time in atop the beastly, air-pressure free Dunlop D739, and I must say that the traction is as excellent as advertised! The rear wheel hung on tenaciously when I sidehilled across dusty, loose slopes. It bit in very well on thoroughly packed-down single track, perhaps even a bit too well! I had to go easy on the throttle when performing wheel pivots or the front wheel would shoot a bit higher than expected – not a problem, but it took a little time to get used to.

On rocks the tire/no-pressure combo really came into its own. It held on to stone like it had been epoxied there! Again this took a little getting used to, as I am accustomed to a little more rear wheel slippage when climbing ledges, and a good bit less throttle was required to get the job done. After getting acquainted with this setup for an hour or so, I noticed a big boost in my confidence level – particularly on the rocks. As long as I kept the engine lit and avoided getting the rear wheel wedged into holes, the bike just kept on moving forward! I found myself wheelie-ing up long, steep, talus-covered hills that I wouldn’t have bothered attempting before. I think I am going to like this tire arrangement!

I also refreshed the plastic and graphics on the old girl. It was a much-needed makeover. Here is what I got for my money:

20130315-155738.jpg

20130315-155810.jpg

And here is how the D739 appears after a good grinding in some rock piles. The wear isn’t too excessive, but definitely present:

20130315-155753.jpg

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
