Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    February 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728  
  • Husqvarna

Got me new shark fin!

Posted by desflurane on February 7, 2013

I got out for another training ride the day before yesterday and provided myself with a stiff workout.

I mentioned descending down a rocky valley during my last ride. I decided to ascend that same little valley, since it was no big deal going downhill.

Uphill = torture!

As soon as I tried to climb one of the loose patches of rock that had presented no real obstacle last time – I knew I was in for a beating! I was trying to cross-hill and gradually ascend as I went, but the back wheel scrabbled and spun out on the damp stones, always ending up a few feet lower than the front when the engine would finally sputter out. I ended up essentially shoving the bike up he hill taking what advantage I could of the brief moments of traction I experienced between flameouts.

At one point I was literally three feet below a nice, flat-ish, relatively rock-free stripe of ground that cut across the hillside. But I was powerless to get onto it! Any attempt to climb uphill resulted in the bike slipping further downhill. I ended up shambling along, cursing and panting as I went, until a gap opened up between the rocks and some actual dirt presented itself!

Much throttle, and I sped off, leaving behind a dense cloud of clutch plate smoke…

From there the ride went perfectly. I meandered over to the construction dump-site I have mentioned before, and had myself a ball. The dirt is soooo lovely right now! Steep hills yield willingly to my onslaughts (except that rocky one…) and wheelies are only the twist of the throttle away! I spent a couple of hours tackling every obstacle I could find to challenge myself with. I nearly looped out once and came rather close to endoing a few times on a steep downhill berm I created. All for my greater good!

My wife was out of town with our younger kids yesterday so, naturally, my motorcycle took center stage in the garage for a little TLC. I repacked the muffler, swapped in a fresh spark plug, and replaced the fin of my slick, black shark fin. The old one was looking pretty well beat!

20130206-202702.jpg

20130206-202712.jpg

Not destroyed, exactly but the new one looks much healthier. That baby has spared my rear rotor from a TON of abuse!

Here is the new one:

20130206-202740.jpg

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
