Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    January 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Husqvarna

The other kind of training ride

Posted by desflurane on January 27, 2013

Ben and I were planning to meet up and ride for a few hours this morning, but due to some sudden work responsibilities, he had to cancel.

As the day wore on, the weather kept getting more and more pleasant. The sun was shining, and temps were approaching 60 degrees! It all felt so “summery” that I decided to go out on my bicycle for a couple of hours. I took a few photos along the way.

20130126-232723.jpg

This is looking back down the road I had just climbed. My house is down in that neighborhood someplace. And you can see what a beautiful day it turned out to be.

20130126-232806.jpg

This one is from the same vantage point, but includes the water tower that this road leads to. The road is paved and fairly steep. As an added bonus, no cars can drive on it, so cycling it is worry-free from a “getting run over” standpoint.

20130126-232752.jpg

This is nearing the end of my ride. Notice the little sign behind me. 13% grade! No joke! It’s probably only a quarter of a mile long section, but it is a killer! You can see the bottom of the steep section going off toward the right. It gets a LOT steeper just a little further along! It’s steep enough that I have to get up off the saddle and pump as hard as I can in my lowest gear to get up this thing! There are longer and steeper roads to be sure, but this one is convenient and plenty tough for me!

All together I rode 28 miles (45 km) and climbed just over 2200 feet (670 meters if you prefer). Good times!

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
