Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    November 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Husqvarna

Racking up the miles

Posted by desflurane on November 22, 2012

When I bought my road bicycle back at the beginning of September I set a goal to ride at least 1,000 miles on it before winter set in. I’m pleased to sat that I have checked that one off my list! I’ve logged just under 1200 miles and I’ve done 63,300 feet of climbing.

Last Saturday I completed the 79 mile challenge where you had to go on a single ride of at least 79 miles on the 16, 17 or 18th of November. As it turned out the weather became he main obstacle to overcome. At about mile 50 the low-lying clouds, that had been keeping any bright sun from overheating me, decided to unload on top of my head. In minutes I was soaked to the skin. The temperatures were in the forty to fifty degree range, so I had to keep riding just to stay warm! I slogged on for forty more cold, soggy miles for a total of 91 for the day. I climbed 6,400 feet along the way as well! Not bad…

I feel confident in saying that my cardio fitness is the best it has EVER been right now. I’m planning to keep up the cycling as much as possible and add in as much weight/strength training as I can between now and July. Of course I’ll ride the dirt bike as much as possible too, that goes without saying! I feel pretty good about my riding skills, but there is always room for improvement to be sure.

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
