Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    September 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Husqvarna

Training Away!

Posted by desflurane on September 24, 2012

It may not be apparent from the frequency of my posts here on the blog, but I’m getting pretty enthused about my return to Romania next June.

As mentioned, I bought a nice road bicycle and since its arrival I’ve been trying my best to ride the wheels right off of it! I had been commuting to work on my trusty Specialized Stumpjumper, racking up 15 miles each way. I could pull that off once, maybe twice per week. It was good. Now that I have the road bike, a whole new world of cycling (and thus training for Romania) has opened up!

Commuting to work hasn’t become exceptionally more frequent, but when I do commute I’m throwing in a few “detours” to include some of the nice steep climbs that exist around town. I ride 17 to 21 miles each way (I’ve stretched it out to 28 before when time permits) and climb around 500-1000 feet, sometimes more. It’s not heroic by any measure, but it makes for a good workout before getting to the hospital.

My fitness is definitely increasing!

I have been riding the motorbike less just recently – though I did get some QUALITY riding in up at Chalk Bluff – but the skills have been coming along nicely. I feel a lot more confident in the rocks these days. I’ve been trying to work on picking lines thru rockpiles that are smoothe and straight – climbing right over the top of the rocks, rather than following the grooves between them. It takes a little more confidence, but works well.

I’m also thinking about moving the whole blog over to another service where I can link to my Strava account and display a summary of my workouts/rides logged there – avoid having to talk about it…

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
