Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    March 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Husqvarna

Hittin’ the gym…

Posted by desflurane on March 27, 2012

So I’ve been able to get out for some great training rides over the past week or so, and the workout routine has been flowing nicely. So at the moment, I’m feeling quite satisfied with my progress. Fifteen (or so) months to go…

I have discovered a new riding area, which I’m referring to as “The Gymnasium.” It isn’t truly a “new” area but a portion of my usual riding spot that I’ve never explored before. It consists of a space roughly the size of a soccer field on the side of a gently sloped hill. There is a nearly flat saddle area beside an outcropping of volcanic rock which has fractured a million times over resulting in an array of nicely sized boulders erupting from the ground like they had been planted in a field!

This arrangement provides near ideal conditions for sneaking up on some of those impressive “Graham Jarvis” type skills – hopping over big rocks, climbing up onto one stone and wheelie-ing off onto another. OK, I’m doing the Fisher-Price version of these moves, but I have to start somewhere!

There are some bigger rocks that I’m thinking I’ll work up to tackling – when somebody else is there with me. I can’t justify getting too crazy when I’m riding solo. This area is in view of a housing development approximately a quarter of a mile away, so I feel comfortable riding there by myself, but I’m not pushing the limits too far.

I’ll take a camera with me next time to capture some of the fun. Hopefully it will look at least somewhat cool!

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
