Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    March 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Husqvarna

Back on the bike

Posted by desflurane on March 9, 2012

I had the day off yesterday and was able to make good use of my free time! I rode for about two and a half hours in the hills behind the local high school. There is some respectable single track up there and a few tricky hill climbs that I have been wanting to tackle once again. It’s all stuff that I’ve ridden before, but I want to focus on my hill-climbing technique.

It seems that every time a great big, steep, ugly hill gets in my way I start having problems, so I want to try to just hammer the hills again and again until it poses less of an obstacle.

I think that a significant part of my problem is having learned bad behavior when (unbeknownst to me) my main jet had fallen out of its seat. As a result, 3/4 throttle and up resulted in horrendous bogging and the engine dying shortly thereafter. I therefore “learned” to try to climb hills with less-than-optimal power. I’m still working on “un-learning” that one.

Copious greenhouse gas emission gets the job done!

And the Tu-Bliss system in the back tire is working famousy. I tried running 8lbs in it yesterday, and the traction is great! It does require a bit of fiddling (checking and maintaining air pressure prior to every ride) but it isn’t a big time waster. The benefits are real!

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
