Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    September 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Husqvarna

I’m still here!

Posted by desflurane on September 20, 2011

So I haven’t posted for quite a while. But have no fear – I’m still here and still gunning for a RIDE in Romania!

It has been kind of a tortuous process, but I’ve decided that I’ll give the 2012 Romaniacs a miss and shoot for 2013. There are a number of reasons for this – 1) I’m not 100% sure I’ll be physically ready by next June. The leg is doing great, but it’s got a looooong way to go! 2) I have a big exam to take next July to maintain my board certification in Anesthesiology. I should have taken it this year and put it off to focus on Romaniacs, I can’t do that again. 3) I don’t think I can save up the needed cash in time – without my wife divorcing me. 4) When I shared this plan with my wife, she didn’t start crying, like she did when I talked about going again in 2012.

So there it is! I’m back in for 2013. I’m staying in touch with the guys in Romania, in fact Volker (PR guru) has asked me to write a kind of “How-To” article for riders in the USA who are thinking about doing Romaniacs but are put off by the logistics. That should be up on the Romaniacs website (I guess) in a couple of weeks.

Thanks for following along! I’ll try to get the rest of my pictures from days 3 and 4 posted. I accidentally deleted my pics from the award party at the end, but they all sucked anyway.

3 Responses to “I’m still here!”

  1. Wayne Beams said

    Please post when the “how to Article” comes online I would love to read it. As I mentioned before I plan on also riding the Romaniacs in the future but I can’t commit next year either, but 2013 might be a possibility for me depending on how my current project goes.

    Thanks,

    Wayne

  2. jon heerkens said

    I should do an Erzberg How to article also, my experience was absolutely fantastic and would do it again. The Romaniac guys – Klaus and Martin are the best.

    • jon heerkens said

      Oops, if yoru on facebook freind teh Romaniac link and get Martins and Klaus’s freind status, they are always posting cool stuff, they are working on the Red Bull sea to summit race in Turkey right now

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
