Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    July 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Husqvarna

Comment from Jon

Posted by desflurane on July 1, 2011

Our intrepid Erzberg competitor Jon Heerkins left a response to my “two cents” about Erzberg…

Rather than leaving it as a comment only, I’ll post it here.

Thanks Jon!

Greetings from Erzberg. Thanks for watching my results. I had a great experience and highly recomend the KTM race program, they treated me like gold. They also gave me an early prologue number which was probably my demise. I started #57 for the 1st run which put me with the pro’s. I had a great early section ride and then on the faster stuff a 450f passed me (actually one of the romaniac promoters) and got sprayed by rocks, for a long time since I could not avoid the spray and keep it on the gas, that made me loose some time and then on the saturday run the lower section was trashed and I could not make up the time on the upper fast sections loosing 7 seconds the 2nd day. There were 2000 people that did the prologue but only 1508 were trying to qualify, probably more but they DNF’d. It turned out to be a good thing because I could ride all over the mtn to watch the main event. Several of my new freinds rode the main but were stuck in the woods, there were some logjams that took over an hour just to wait your turn to get through.

The romaniac guys are a blast, real nice people. If I do another it would be the Roof of Africa or Romaniacs, probably the roof because Africa is much better for the budget, the euro excange really hurts buying power.

Erzberg was great fun but has limited riding, I would rather ride for 3-4 days then wait for a potential qualifieying position. There were alot of fast guys that did not make the main and alot of guys that got severly hurt trying. The ambulances were constantly going to the hospital.

I had a blast.

Jon

If you would like to see the “log jams” that Jon refers to, look no further than the videos linked below – there is one point where he rides up to a crowd of bikes waiting to try a steep, muddy mess of a hillclimb. A caption appears that reads “1.5 hours later…” and it is finally his turn to hit the hill. By the time the later rows arrived, the trail was completely obliterated! Just steep rocks,roots and mud. Nobody would have been able to climb that thing if it weren’t for the ropes that were hauling each and every bike up! There is another video showing Gerhardt Forster and a few other German guys (I’ll try to find it and link it). They get to this section much earlier on and the hill is in a bit better shape. Needless to say, they get right up.

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
