Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    June 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Husqvarna

Estimation of expenses

Posted by desflurane on June 20, 2011

Based on my current knowledge, here is a guess at what money I’ll need to raise for next year:

Entry fee: 1480 Eu ($2100 includes wire transfer fees)
Airfare to Sibiu: ($2000)
Bike rental: 1500 Eu ($2000)
Bike service: 300 Eu ($400)
Miscellaneous: ($1500)

I think the shoestring budget is therefore right around $8000. We are spending at least that much this time, and I’m not riding – But we are flying first class into and out of Vienna, taking the train to Sibiu, etc, etc. If I just red-eye it over there – right into Sibiu, do the race and come home, it would save a lot of dough.

The other wrench in the works is that for years my wife has promised our oldest daughter that she would take her to Italy. It looks like they are planning to take that trip next summer. It may get complicated sorting that all out – both with the money and the scheduling.

I think I can make it work out though.

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
