Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    February 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  
  • Husqvarna

Training!

Posted by desflurane on February 25, 2011

The sun was shining and it was nice and warm two days ago. I finished my cases reasonably early in the day and immediately decided to get out for a ride! I suited up in all my new gear (I picked up a Shoei helmet, some Pod knee braces, new Fox elbow guards and some fresh KTM orange Fly Racing duds) and headed out for the close-by access to BLM land. I headed up the rock-lined gulley that I mentioned before. I have previously only ridden down this particular trail, and I figured it was time to run it in reverse.

I need to wear my helmet cam the next time I ride this gully, it really is fun. I can’t say that it is “extreme” or even close to it. But it provides about two miles of sandy, rocky practice that is tough to beat. The “waterfall” area is really fun to ride going uphill or downhill. I think I will need to find some more challenging terrain pretty soon however. This lets me practice riding over endless rocks, but most of it is very nearly flat. I need to find something similar that pitches up 10-20 degrees (more in spots) and work that over. Actually, I know of several such places but none of them are quite so convenient to my house.

While out on this ride I left my index finger completely untaped and actually used it to operate the clutch solo for a while. The strength is just BARELY adequate, but I can do it. Another couple of weeks and I should be back to near normal. I did a bunch of wheelie practice and made what I consider good progress. I will just keep steadily at it.

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
