Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    February 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  
  • Husqvarna

Recovery encouraging

Posted by desflurane on February 8, 2011

It has been two weeks since I tried to tear my finger off. I have kept it taped up tight most of that time, and I think its coming along pretty well. The swelling is nearly gone and things aren’t particularly painful unless I smack my hand on something or bend my finger too far. This photo actually makes things look worse than they really are, but it gives you some idea of what’s going on.

I even taped my fingers together and went out for a couple of rides last week. I have to cover the clutch with two fingers rather than just my index, but it works. Popping the clutch for wheelies and so forth is a little off – as I have a hard time releasing both fingers quickly enough to get a really good effect.

I also don’t have enough strength with just my index finger to pull the clutch quickly and reliably. So for the time being I’m a two-fingered clutch man, that’s just how it’s going to have to be.

I had a friend, who is a hand surgeon, take a look at it. He confirmed what I already suspected – that I had torn the MCP collateral ligament (which accounts for the loss of “pincer” strength) and that it will come back eventually. For now I just keep doing what I’m doing (tape it, stretch it, use it) and it should be fine. It was nice to hear that from somebody else, however.

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
