Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    January 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Husqvarna

Handguard upgrade

Posted by desflurane on January 24, 2011

I went out for a great ride on Thursday. Did some nice singletrack with Todd, who I met before out at Moon Rocks when I rode there with Ben and Jeff a few weeks ago. I also hit a few rice rock-filled gullys to exercise my waterfall skills – good thing I’ve got six months to go!

After about two solid hours of riding, I headed back to the loading area. There is a nice little bermed rut there, which I used to turn around in a little fenced-off area near my vehicle. As I came around the rut, the front tire broke loose and I laid the bike down toward the inside of the turn (to my left side). That has only happened about a million times before, no big deal – except that somehow my left hand punched into the dirt REALLY hard! Of course I wasn’t paying really close attention at the time, so I didn’t notice exactly what happened, but my left index finger got folded over pretty firmly. At first I thought it was broken, but now I think it’s just a soft-tissue injury. At any rate its very swollen and stiff four days later.

The point of that story is that I have pulled the trigger on an upgrade of my brush guard situation. I am replacing the stock plastic with some nice Pro Bend metal. If those babys had been on there, I’m sure I would have been unscathed.

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
