Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    January 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Husqvarna

Snowy singletrack fun!

Posted by desflurane on January 1, 2011

I got done with work today (New Year’s Eve) at about 11:30am and as I drove home, noted that the skies were clear and blue, the temperature was just above freezing (probably about 36degF) and there was essentially no wind – seemed like great riding weather! Cold, for sure but that would keep the snow from melting and getting too soggy.

I stayed close to home and rode a singletrack trail that was made for mountain bikes and hikers with lots of switchbacks. I brought my helmet cam along to capture the fun! What the camera didn’t show is how the back end was sliding out all over the place on the snow every time I touched the throttle. It looks like fairly decent traction – this was NOT the case! The trail was really fun and the switchbacks offered some very nice wheelie turn practice. The best one can be seen at 1:20 in the second video.

As you can see at the end of the second clip, I did the turn OK, but came to a stop. When I put my left foot down to steady myself I just slid down the hill! A lengthy extrication followed and I decided that it was probably too slick to go higher. The trail gets rockier at the top and would probably have been really ugly with the snow. The switchbacks were very interesting going down too, BTW! Once I got off the hill I did some “trials” practice riding through a rock-lined ditch that flanks a paved road, and over some lone rocks in a field. I need a lot more practice on this stuff, but I feel pretty good about progress so far. Seven months to go!

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
