Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    November 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Husqvarna

Very little excitement…

Posted by desflurane on November 26, 2010

Snow has begun flying, we are out-of-town for the Thanksgiving holiday, and -needless to say- I have not been riding at all. The next month or so will be very difficult from a riding perspective. There actually are some places where the snow wouldn’t be prohibitive, but the Christmas/New Year’s season will preclude any real efforts to get there.

So, I have decided that I will promote domestic tranquility and hold off on any road trips until January 1. But I’m thinking that from that point on I want to really go whole hog and train as hard as I can. I’ll still have a full six months (plus a couple of weeks) and I think that should be ample time.

I’m hoping to make a journey back to Hollister early on, and as soon as the snows recede Chalk Bluff is definitely on my list. I’ll continue to ride my usual places, but I really need to focus on riding more challenging terrain.

To that end I have selected a spot where I want to put together sort of an endurocross track to practice on. A guy on Craigslist is selling railroad ties for $1 per foot in whatever length I need, so I think I could pick up a load or two of those for cheap and construct a few reasonable obstacles. I had been trying to locate some logs for the same purpose, but I would have to be able to pull them off of big stacks, cut them to length, load, unload, etc. myself. A bit bigger of an undertaking than I want to mess around with. Railroad ties would make a much more convenient alternative and end up being almost as good I think.

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
