Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    October 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Husqvarna

Did I mention that I’m a movie star?

Posted by desflurane on October 26, 2010

Yeah, no kidding!

Well, sort of…

In 2009 a full-length film was shot about the Virginia City Grand Prix called Dust On The Comstock. I did the race, and yes, I appear in the film. Only for about five seconds in the actual movie, but in the extra stuff tacked on to the end I show up again, twice if I’m not mistaken. Both times riding very timidly and looking like a slug! Oh well, such is the fickle nature of fame…

The race itself is truly a classic, after the fashion of the old Elsinore Grand Prix of On Any Sunday fame. Three hundred riders start on Main street in Virginia City – a true historical treasure in it’s own right – and head off into the hills for a loop of twenty to thirty miles. The race is four hours long!! After four hours of riding as hard as I could through the desert, I was blasted!

It was actually the VC race that got me started with getting regular exercise and focusing on my riding. It was a major turning point for me, and though I didn’t do very well – I did finish. A major accomplishment for me.

I didn’t make the race this year. I was on call that weekend and I had just bought my 300 a few weeks earlier. I was so unfamiliar with my new bike, I think attempting to ride it in such a difficult event would have been a very bad idea. I fully intend to ride it this coming year. And I hope to do much better!

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
