Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    October 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Husqvarna

More info from Romania

Posted by desflurane on October 6, 2010

I asked Cristina at the Romaniacs headquarters a few questions, here they are, along with her answers:

1) What do I need to provide as far as a “racing license?” I don’t think we have that here in the states.

REGULATIONS OUR WEBSITE PCT 4.
c.- competitors from outside of Europe need one of the licence listed below:
1) International FIM Enduro or Cross Country licence.
Or.

If you dont, have a competition licence yet.
2) written permission from their national motorsport federation to have a event/day licence issued by the Romanian Motorcycling Federation (FRM) (this FIM licence can be purchased in Sibiu at the race for a coast of 50 euros/per race, sport medical test of 5 euros and insurance cost of 32 euros). Has to be announced to FRM (ceo@frm.ro) no later than 30th May 2010 !

If purchasing a event/day FIM licence from Romanian Motorcycling Federation seems to be the best solution for you, and you face problems getting the permission therefore from your national federation, then please report to cristinab@xventure.net

2) What options are available for renting a bike for the rally? I don’t think shipping my bike over is practical. Or is it?

WE HAD EACH YEAR OFFERS FOR RENTL BIKES. I DON’T KNOW YET THE OFFERS FOR 2011 BUT FOR SURE WE WILL PROVIDE BIKES AND ALSO SERVICE FOR EACH DAY…MORE DETAILS LATER WHEN WE WILL GET THE KTM OFFERS. OK? STAY IN TOUCH FOR THIS ONE

So, it sounds as though it should be no big deal to get a machine rented over there. Right before the start of the 2010 rally the Romaniacs website had an ad for a few KTMs available for rental – one was a new 2010 300EXC. Hopefully I can score one like that!

3) If I rent a bike, is there an easy way to ship parts over so they are waiting for me when I get there? (may not actually need this if bike is already set up for the race)

IF THE KTM AUSTRIA WILL COME AGAIN WILL THE BIG TRUCK YOU CAN ORDER THE PARTS FROM THEM…..

4) As you mentioned, the actual date for the rally has not been set. Is the general time known? Will it be in June again, or around then?

WE ARE PLANING TO DO IT AGAIN IN JUNE. TILL END OF OCTOBER WE WILL HAVE A DATE.

(I am assuming that Cristina means that the date will be determined BY the end of October).

5) Is it possible to get contact information for the US riders in the 2010 rally? (Eric Gibson #338 and Glenn Tyson #309) I would love to ask them about their experience. Their input would be great for the blog too.

YES, PLEASE SEE GLENN ADDRESS, PLS TELL HIM THAT I GAVE YOU HIS EMAIL..OK? (email deleted…)

I have sent an email to the address she provided, but I haven’t heard back yet. I really think that asking Glenn or Eric about what the event was ACTUALLY like would be far more valuable than all the speculation and assuming that I have been doing so far. It would be HUGE to know how things work over there, how to get ready for it, etc. etc. At any rate, I’ll try him again.

I think I’ll stop there for now.

I’M HERE IF YOU HAVE MORE QUESTIONS

Thank you Cristina!

YOU ARE WELCOME

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
