Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    September 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Husqvarna

Two-fer

Posted by desflurane on September 11, 2010

Got out for a nice ride this morning/early afternoon with my old riding buddy Keith. We explored a new area where neither of us had ridden before. We climbed a few reasonably gnarly hills that I have done in my Jeep before. It was pretty fun on the bike.

I am starting to REALLY like the ignition map switch! The change is subtle but very useful. It is most apparent on steep, loose hills. I flip the switch and all of a sudden I’m riding a nearly stall-proof tractor that has a very soft, traction-maintaining hit. Once you get into higher revs it doesn’t seem to matter much, and I don’t think I could tell which ignition map I’m it at any given time. But for lower-speed technical stuff, it really shines.

So, anyway, we wrapped up that ride at about two o’clock in the afternoon. I went home and watched the kids for a few hours while my wife went to a quilting shop ALL BY HERSELF. Then we met up with Keith, his wife and another couple and did an evening quad date/ride. We buzzed around the hills for about two hours then stopped off at the local sports bar (which happens to be on the way home) and had a bit of dinner. Very nice day!

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
