Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    September 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Husqvarna

Fork that!

Posted by desflurane on September 7, 2010

So I blew a fork seal recently.

It started oozing a little but not too much. Not enough to bother getting it fixed just yet. I’ve ridden twice since I noticed it, and the trickle has grown into a pretty good hemorrhage, so I bit the bullet and pulled my forks off.

I have never done that before, I always just dropped my bike off at the shop and paid twenty-five bucks more to not mess with it. But this time I got looking at the triple clamp and brake caliper bracket, and realized “THIS IS NO BIG DEAL!!” Take out two bolts and the caliper comes off, loosen four bolts per side on the triple clamp and the whole mess falls off! (Of course, I removed the front wheel first) So, following fifteen minutes of light labor my forks were resting peacefully on the garage floor, awaiting the new set of seals in store for them!

I dropped them off earlier today. Ziggy is going to tweak them a little bit for me. He says it will cut some of the harshness in the rocks. Sounds good!

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
