Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    July 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Husqvarna

Using the helmet cam

Posted by desflurane on July 9, 2010

I think I mentioned before that I have a VHoldr Contour 1080p helmet cam. It has been really fun recording rides and reviewing them later. I especially like being able to examine my riding techniques and plan out better strategies for various situations. I have a few examples that I’ll try to put up here this evening.

Went riding with a friend last night. He rides a Honda 450. I can outrun him pretty easily on most terrain, but there were a couple of steep, sandy, rocky hill climbs that he completely spanked me on! He chugged right up one hill while I flailed uselessly at the bottom! When I watched the video, I think I see what my problem was, or at least part of it. As usual, the solution involves -more throttle-! I was trying to maintain traction on the loose surface by not getting into high rpms, but the engine just bogged and eventually died each time. I think if I had attacked with a lot more throttle and used the clutch to regulate power delivery (and hopefully maintain traction) I think I would have done better.

Again, I’ll try to get some video clips up.

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
