Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    June 2010
    M T W T F S S
        Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Husqvarna

The Beat Goes On

Posted by desflurane on June 16, 2010

So it’s 8:00am. I’m once again, safely tucked away in an operating room. My wife should have arrived in brazil by now. She phoned from Washington D.C. last night. Ten hour flight down to brazil (painful!!) I don’t think transatlantic flights are that long (the sort I hope to be making en route to Romania).

I have been experimenting on the elliptical. Our Octane unit has what is called X-Mode where the machine randomly varies the workout. There are eight or so modifiers (lean back, squat, upper body only, etc) and it will give you up to three at a time in one minute intervals. I like it because it isn’t unlike the varied exertion you get on an offroad dirt bike ride. It’s not all just slogging away in the same motion. You get to mix it up some, and involve some muscle groups that are usually neglected in an elliptical routine.

I also threw in a little upper-body dumbell work. Low weight (10lbs each) and high reps. I’ll try to work that in to the mix as often as I can. I don’t think I really need to bulk up much, just get some tone and endurance. Feels good to get a little pump going on.

On a completely separate note, I got my iPhone 4 reserved yesterday afternoon. I’ve been waiting for the next gen iPhone for a while now. I didn’t upgrade to the 3Gs when it came out. I’ve been biding my time. But no longer! I can pick it up on the 24th. 5Mpix camera and video capability will be really nice! And speed. Man my 3G phone has been feeling SLOW lately. It’s definitely time for a step up I’m processor power.

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
