Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    June 2010
    M T W T F S S
        Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Husqvarna

Right Now

Posted by desflurane on June 12, 2010

Ok, where do I stand right now?

  1. 41 years old.
  2. I have a reasonable chance at saving enough money to fund the trip to Romania. I have no sponsors, benefactors, donors, trust funds, etc.
  3. I ride my 2009 KTM 300 xcw several days per week. My riding level is definitely at the “amateur” level, but has improved considerably in the past few months.
  4. Physical condition is “Good” – no medical problems, no physical limitations. I excercise 4-5 days per week. I’m definitely good for multiple hours-long rides under strenuous conditions.
  5. Commitment level is high at the moment. (I’ve even started a blog for Pete’s sake…)
  6. I’m currently alone in this venture.

Alright, where am I going?

  1. Age: I won’t be getting younger anytime soon, so I think I need to pull this race off as soon as possible. 2011 is the earliest realistic opportunity (as the 2010 rally begins in two weeks). 2012 is more likely (unless the world comes to a disastrous end first… drat those pesky Mayans!) and would allow more time for fund-raising and training. Downside is that this puts me at 43 years old going in to this thing. But hey, 40 is the new 30 right? I think a wait-and-see approach will prevail here. I would love to shoot for 2011, but it may not come together until 2012.
  2. Money: My preliminary investigations indicate that the race would cost somewhere in the neighborhood of $6,000.
    • $1800 rally entry fee (includes room and meals during the race)
    • $1500 bike rental (this is a guess based on a few other websites offering similar deals – could be way off here)
    • $1600 round trip ticket from Reno to Sibiu.
    • $1500 for other expenses (insurance, parts, etc.)

    I have devised a means of depositing up to $500 per month in a savings account dedicated to this purpose, so I should be able to reach this target in time. If I go for the 2012 rally, there should be plenty of money by then.

  3. Skills: I have definitely been improving in this area. As mentioned, I ride as often as possible here in northern Nevada, a region replete with challenging terrain. The Sierra Nevada mountains are close by and offer excellent riding. A bona fide motocross track has recently opened about twenty minutes from my home and offers open practice sessions each Wednesday. I will try to take full advantage of all these opportunities to hone my riding skills.
  4. I don’t have any physical limitations at present, but I feel like there is a lot of room for improvement. I’ll continue with my almost daily sessions on the elliptical. I’m planning to work in some additional training such as running (I have some friends who run marathons who may be of assistance here), weight training (may have to join a gym) and, of course, riding as much as possible. I want to devise an actual workout schedule with increasing endurance training ramping up toward the race. To really make that happen, I’ll need to decide when I’m actually going.
  5. Commitment: For now I’m feeling “Whole Hog.” I really want to do this, I think it will be a great way to increase my fitness along the way, I can fulfill a lifelong dream, and I get to visit Europe! What’s not to like? However, interests wax and wane, and this is potentially a two-year commitment. It’s possible that I’ll lose interest along the way, or decide it’s too difficult or whatever – but I like the idea so much, I think I can make it happen! I want to order up the three available DVDs from Throttle Entertainment and study them, to learn as much as I can about the event and, hopefully, to maintain enthusiasm when getting up in the morning to work out doesn’t sound enticing…
  6. Comraderie: I have a few friends who may be interested in getting on board. I’m contemplating placing posts on KTMTalk.com and other related sites to see if anybody else is interested in making a serious commitment to doing this race. If I can get a team put together – so much the better! Romaniacs allows for teams racing together. I think it would significantly increase chances of success.
Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
