Desflurane's Romaniacs Blog

Chronicle of My Participation in the World's Toughest Enduro Rally – Again…

  • Red Bull Romaniacs
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Calendar-O-Matic

    June 2010
    M T W T F S S
        Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Husqvarna

Why?

Posted by desflurane on June 11, 2010

Ok, the idea here is as the title says – to chronicle my attempt to participate in the worlds hardest extreme enduro – the Red Bull Romaniacs. This five-day rally is held each summer in Romania and is widely regarded as the toughest of the “extreme” enduros.

Am I a world-class, pro-level off-road motorcyclist? Absolutely not. I am a 41-year-old physician practicing in Reno, Nevada. I’ve been riding the plentiful trails here for the past several years and I have participated in a few off-road races. Definitely not “rockstar” status here…

As my riding skills have progressed, I have really wanted an exciting long-term goal to work toward. I remember back in the early eighties, reading Dirt Bike magazine stories about the ISDE competitions and classic enduros like the long-gone Blackwater 100. These stories captured my imagination as a kid and the thought of travelling to an exotic location to run an epic has always enchanted me.

So when I learned about the Romaniacs race, I thought to myself – THESE GUYS ARE COMPLETELY NUTS!!

And as time has gone on, I have further thought – How awesome would it be to travel to Romania and run a totally epic, totally crazy race like the Romaniacs. The setting couldn’t be more cool – the CARPATHIAN MOUNTAINS!! The race itself couldn’t be more amazing (watch the videos!) and I have at least a year to get ready for it.

So, what am I waiting around for?

Tell me where I've gone wrong... (please!)

 
